Oak Creek Cabernet Sauvignon

At this time, I’m so poor, I can’t really buy wine. I’d prefer to wait until I can afford something that I can afford. Yes, I do low rent wine reviews. Therefore, when I saw this Oak Creek Cabernet Sauvignon* at CVS for $2.50 per bottle, I could not pass it up. Yes, usually cheap ass wine is a pain to drink. I recall the only bottle of wine I had to toss out which was Manishevitz. This stuff made me sick as I drank it.

I figured that the Oak Creek might be similar. But it was worth it because the bottle looked like its contents would be proper wine, not some candy shit.

When I opened the bottle, I was not surprised to see that the cork was made from some rubber, faux cork. It did not hold wine very well, the beads of wine sort of dewed up on the end so it wasn’t much to sniff.

Once I had a single sip of this stuff I was hooked. It was just as good as the best wine I ever had. The best. The wine was very dark purple (like normal wine!) and very dry (also normal(. Since I have a very poor sense of taste, the cheapest bottle of wine is a crack in the sidewalk away from the most expensive so long as the cheap stuff adheres to a few standards like not tasting like grape jelly mixed with turpentine.

Ever since, I can’t look at another bottle of wine the same. Everything is in increments of 2.5. For example, for each five dollar bottle of crappy wine I see in the grocery store, I think that I could get two bottles of Oak Creek. And so on. The regular ten dollar bottles are way out of my league now.

In fact, I have no desire to drink any other wine again as long as I live. This is it for me.

Wine perfection. I wasn’t even hung over the next day which is strange because wine often makes people sick because of the sulfates. And also because of the alcohol.

* [Note I have no affiliation with Oak Creek in any way, but boy I wish I did.]

4 Responses to “Oak Creek Cabernet Sauvignon”

  1. Maureen Says:

    I just tried this wine in San Diego while there on vacation. We bought it at CVS on sale 3 for $6. Fantastic stuff!!!! I nned to find it here in NJ.

  2. Gina Says:

    Had it in florida …great wine and i have had some of the best where can we get it in New
    jersey ? … No hang over or headaches!

  3. Susan Says:

    I love this wine. I just started drinking cabernet sauvignon for my health. When I saw this at CVS for $3.00 a (eco-friendly) bottle, I bought a few. I was surprised at how much I like it. I usually like sweet wine, but this is dry with just enough sweetness to make it hard to drink just one or two glasses. I’m not a wine snob, and alot of them claim it’s not a cab. What do they know, did they pick the grapes?
    Good wine doesn’t have to cost alot, and you don’t have to “pair” it with certain types of food. I’m a Vegan, I’ll pair it with a cigarette. How about I pair it with a piece of bread and be closer to God.

    • Kay Says:

      Susan, this is at least the second time I’ve seen your vegan rant on an Oak Creek review -Including pairing it with a cigarette because you’re so offended by the centuries old traditional meats and cheeses. Give me a break. Good luck proselytizing to other wine aficionados.

      Checking out Oak Creek because it’s 2.99 at Giant Eagle so thinking of trying it.

Leave a Reply

