Matthew 7:21

This line says that only people who do God’s will are going to heaven. This is interesting because there are people who preach that doing good will NOT get you into heaven. You must be saved. Just whip out Matthew 7:21 in this case. It even says not everyone who calls me “Lord, Lord” will get into heaven. So thus people who are supposedly “saved” might not get in.

Why do I care? Mainly because of facial expressions. I feel that a smug look on someone’s face, a smarmy look of superiority is the easiest way to piss me off. I don’t know why. People who are “saved” often come on like this as if they know something I don’t. Maybe they do, maybe they don’t. But don’t be smug about it because if you do then there’s one thing _I_ know that you don’t. Facial expression manners.

Plus, I hate doctrinal disputes that hinge on one word taken out of context. Plus, I think that religion loses one of it’s best attributes when this whole saved business comes up. Religion can, in some cases, compel people to act better to one another. If you are saved, you can treat anyone like shit and still go to heaven. This explains some really bad behavior, I think.

In fact, I feel it is strange, but I have noticed that the people who profess atheism seem to have some of the strongest value systems. They have clear ideas about corruption and why you shouldn’t participate. They have an investment in the human race and this planet.

Again, I don’t know why.

3 Responses to “Matthew 7:21”

  1. PTET Says:

    I reckon it’s because atheists (and others) figure they have to take responsibility for themselves, rather than abdicating responsibility to God (who “loves” them even if they mess up, as long as they have faith/believe/eat the crackers/sacrifice goats whatever).

  2. Dwayne Harman Says:

    “This line says that only people who do God’s will are going to heaven.”

    God’s Will is that all would be saved.

    (God’s will and goodwill are not the same thing….)

    However, if Christ is the only way to heaven, and someone doesn’t know Him, a “Christian” has no right to be a smug jerk towards them…..

  3. Leroy Glinchy Says:

    Ug, after the last comment, I had to reread my post as well as the actual text.

    “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven.”

    Upon another read, there appears to be a typo here after but. That is, if read, _literally_, it seems to mean that he who does the will of My Father will say ‘Lord, Lord.’ Confused? Me, too.

    It does not say anything about smugness nor being a jerk.

    It does say that ‘not everyone’ will enter into the kingdom of heaven. If you add a “not” to the set of everyone, it is clear that at least one person must be excluded from heaven if this line is true.

    Otherwise, it would say “Everyone who says, ‘Lord, Lord’, will go to heaven.”

    This would be more clear.

    Conclusions:

    1. Saying “Lord, Lord” will not get you to heaven, but it might.

    2. One person, at least, who says, “Lord, Lord” will be excluded from heaven.

    3. There may or may not be people excluded who do NOT say “Lord, Lord.”

    4. I made a mistake in my post. The second part of the line is confusing, and I don’t know what it means.

    It says, “he who does the will of my father” NO PUNCTUATION “in heaven.” Therefore, “in heaven” modifies father, it’s not a destination for someone who does good works in this particular line. I need to read further to see how this plays out.

Leave a Reply

