Matthew 7:13-14

I this next couplet. I don’t agree with it, but I think it sums up a great deal regarding Christianity.

Again, it brings up another duality. In this case, the duality is regarding life. Wide is the gate the leads to destruction and narrow is the gate that leads to life. OK.

In Buddhism this kind of thinking is called annihilism (destruction) vs. eternalism (life). Buddha did not preach either of these. Thus if asked if one’s soul is eternal, he’d say no. If asked if one were completely destroyed after death, he’d say no. This seems like a paradox, but I don’t think it is. I think that things are more subtle.

I know analogies don’t prove anything, but I think that they can be a good way to explain certain notions. In this case, one does not say that your body is destroyed after you die. Even if you are cremated, all the atoms that make up your body will still exist. This is the law of conservation of mass. However, you are not the same after you die. After decay, the pieces scatter, and the atoms are soon part of new living things. In a way, you live on. In a way, you don’t.

One modern Buddhist was asked that if the soul does not live on, then what part of you survives your death. He laughed and said, “your neurosis”. I thought this was funny as well.

It is as if your negative energy can live on. Can you positive energy live on as well? I think so.

I’m not saying that this is some kind of law for people to believe in. It is just the best way that I can see what’s going to happen to myself after I die.

I may be wrong, and I will be in a lake of fire. In this case, I should be buried in swimming trunks.

Leave a Reply

