Matthew 7:7-12

This chapter continues with its feel good message. In this section it basically says ask and you will be given.

I could be wrong, but I think that this is the basis of _The Secret_. If you wish hard enough for something, you will get it. Anyone who ever tried this knows that there are mixed results at best at this approach.

For one thing, there are things we know to be impossible like resurrection. Try it! Close your eyes and wish real hard for someone we could use to be resurrected like Lincoln. If I see Lincoln walking around Philly tomorrow, I’ll admit that I was wrong on this, and the secret really works. If not, I’ll stand by my words.

I think it is dangerous to think this way. In fact, I feel that this is the basest form or religion. I call it the vending machine god. Put your money in the slot, press the button, and you get a coke.

There is so much more to spirituality, I gnash my teeth each time religion is boiled down to such simplistic terms. In fact, I feel that one of the biggest thing I learned from my little spiritual endeavors is accepting things as they are. This is the opposite of “asking and receiving all kind of goodies”.

Somewhere in my heart, there is lingering doubt. Maybe I’m too much of an asshole. Maybe I’m not one of the chosen people. Maybe there are people somewhere who are wishing away and getting all the goodies that they want. I bet they live in the suburbs where they never have to listen to other people’s shitty music.

I don’t know. All I know is that _my_ spirituality tells me that I wish them the best. I wish that they are free of pain and their riches increase.

Leave a Reply

