Matthew 6:12-15

The first part asks for forgiveness of debts. On one hand, I can relate to this seeing as I have a ton of stupid debt. On the other hand, is this not asking for something? We are not supposed to do this when we pray. Again, as the priest demonstrated, I’m dumber than a box of rocks so there’s probably a good reason for this. On the other hand, without doubt is it and will forever be over my tiny head. This seems like a contradiction to me.

I’m starting to feel that one of the main points of religious writing is to contradict oneself as much as possible. This makes Ann Coulter something like a modern day Thomas Aquinas.

The line continues and says, “As we forgive our debtors.” This is what I call sock puppet prayer. God becomes our sock puppet because he can say whatever we want to say. Why we can’t just own up to our own thoughts is due to a lack of self-confidence so we must invoke God. Again, this argument was underlying the priest’s argument about the bread. It was one of the clearest things that he said. Christ said so and we take his word. OK.

For some reason, sock puppetry pushes my angry buttons. The content on the other hand, I like. Forgiving debtors is nice. Again, there’s no reason _why_ to do this. Again, I’ll turn to my usual metta argument.

If we are worried about people who owe us all the time, and they don’t pay us back, this could lead to anger and upset us. Forgiveness can create a healing and a calming feeling. As I was told, don’t do any special meditations, just grit your teeth suck it up and forgive, pilgrim! After all it’s only fair. You got your debt forgiven in the phrase before. If, and only if, the debt collectors are Christians who actually read and follow the bible. The latter is doubtful seeing how many Christians force you to swear on the bible in court. Idiots!

The next line asks not to be lead into temptation. I like this. It makes it easy, I guess which is nice for the lazy. Still, what if there is temptation. It does not say.

Next it tells God his is the kingdom, power, and glory. Usually, I’d say, duh, but I am used to reading about prayer that states the obvious. I actually don’t mind this now because it is better than stating the ridiculous which is our other choice. The third choice is saying something profound which is what I’m waiting for. And waiting.

The next two lines basically say that if you forgive people then God will forgive you and vice-versa. This is nice. More forgiveness is always nice.

I hear this spoken of by Christians often, but it is always when they have wronged someone. I have never wronged a Christian and had them say, that’s OK, I forgive you, God wants me to. In fact, he put this in his book. Bzzzt. Wrong.

I had a friend who bought a car. He paid it, on time, until he had $500 to go. He asked for the title, but never got it. Then he was stopped, and the car was being taken by the police. No title, no car. He called again. This time, she claimed the car was hers and she took it back. She took his money and his car.

Then he got a card from her quoting this line. This shit makes my blood boil. There’s hellfire for us non-Christians when we don’t follow their little rules. After all, every church says it’s the _only_ way. But if Christians do something wrong, they want forgiveness from us because God says so. I guess this is why I hate sock puppetry, but I like the word.

2 Responses to “Matthew 6:12-15”

  1. equa yona Says:

    Man, is that a true story? Freaky chick, no?

    Just thought I’d mention that the word translated ‘debt’ is also translated, ‘trespass’. I can’t remember what the actual Greek word is, but this is basically a teaching us the same thing the other forgiveness line you refer to teaches. If you want forgiveness from god, you have to forgive those around you. I don’t think it is so much a tit for tat but an essential quality to cultivate if you are going to live in god’s will.

  2. Leroy Glinchy Says:

    Yes, the story is true. I think that most good humor has an element of the truth in it.

    I think I learned trespass which made no sense when I was five. I guess the repetition is for emphasis, a notion I am familiar with in religious texts and bad poetry.

Leave a Reply

