Matthew 6:9-11

Last time, we learned what NOT to pray about. Don’t repeat yourself, and don’t ask for stuff.

This part teaches us how to pray. I think that this is a huge step for Jesus. When you establish a religion, the practices are very important to the believers. Like it or hate it, this is what I wanted from the start.

It starts out with an introduction telling us that the Father (God) is holy and in heaven. This is standard for many prayers.

Next it says, “Thy Kingdom come.” I believe this refers to Jesus’ view that his Father’s kingdom will come to the earth in the near future. I could be wrong here. If not, I have no idea what this means.

Next he says, that Father’s will be done on earth as it is in heaven. I find this fascinating because it points to a vastly different view of God than the one I have. If he has to spell out something this obvious, perhaps to the people of the time, God was less powerful. I mean if God’s will was not done on earth, then who’s is? I thought God was all powerful.

Perhaps he means that God is _not_ all powerful or has somehow decided not to extend his power to the earth. This is an interesting concept and would make a good short story. Very nice line. In stating the obvious, he stated much, much more than the obvious.

Next he says, “give us this daily bread.” By this, I think he means more than just a request for bread. Recall, we are not supposed to ask for anything. I think that by this, he means that each day, the same old, same old goes by. Sort of like another day, another dollar type of thing. I’m not sure.

One thing I did notice is that prayer is a bit ADD in that there are no good transitions. Perhaps this is because he is more interested in the ideas presented rather than the form?

I stopped here, but there’s more prayer to cover. This prayer has too much going on to cover in just one post.

2 Responses to “Matthew 6:9-11”

  1. equa yona Says:

    I would think that Jesus is emphasizing that since we have free will, it would be good if we remember that we need to seek God’s will. This prayer is, I believe, designed to change us and our attitudes rather than to influence the Deity.
    For a very readable view that God’s power is self limited, read Rabbi Kushner’s book, “Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People?”

  2. Leroy Glinchy Says:

    OK, I miss read this. Thanks for the correction. Someone should really put some better notes in this book!

Leave a Reply

