Matthew 6:1-6

I feel like I am at the dawn of a new era. A new chapter in life. Or maybe just a new chapter in Matthew. It seems like months since I turned a page in this book. I think that this shows how much information was packed into chapter five. After the lighter four chapters before, that I got anything out of chapter five is a miracle.

In this chapter, the advice continues. In the first six lines, he basically says that when you pray you should not tell anyone about it. If you do, then you all ready have your reward.

These passages are definitely a breath of fresh air. People that talk about how about their religion are so annoying. I also like the paradox of this statement. If you talk about being religious, you aren’t. Therefore, it’s impossible to know who is really religious. People that are quiet may be religious, or they may be atheists who don’t have much to say.

Finally, this section has one of my favorite quotes of all time. I did not know that it came from here. “Don’t let your right hand know what your left hand does.” [Paraphrase to eliminate kooky English].

Even better, I like, “the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing” because it is funnier.

At any rate, this section is looking up. It spawned some great comedy. It has two ideas that I love, not praying in public, and the fact that nobody in an organization knows what anyone else is doing. Though the latter was unintended, it still stands as a great work of funny.

I can only hope that the first six episodes of Buffy The Vampire Slayer are as good as these six lines.

Leave a Reply

