Matthew 5:27-28

I’m starting to feel that a bit of breaking this into sections would make this book a lot easier to read. I’m not sure, but perhaps they lacked the typesetting technology that this would require. On the other hand, they did manage to break the whole thing into chapters somehow so this could be possible.

The actual message here is in two lines. It starts out saying that if you look at a woman with lust, you have all ready committed adultery in your heart. I think that this is very good advice. Basically not to start out on the path of doing something that is wrong. This reminds me of the beginning of the Dhammapada where it says, that everything starts with the mind, speak and act with an impure mind and suffering will follow as the wheel follows the ox that draws the cart.

So basically, you shouldn’t even consider doing something that is wrong, and if you catch yourself doing so, stop. Of course, for me, I accept that people will have differing views of what is right and wrong. I believe that suffering really does follow doing wrong things. For example, if you touch a hot stove, your hand gets burned so you can say that touching hot stoves with a bare hand is wrong. Very simple.

I radically accept the fact that other people have a differing sense of right and wrong. I definitely feel that people have a different sense of suffering judging from what music people listen to for entertainment. That is unless, there is a private torturing company next door to my house. Use of that kind of “music” for torture makes more sense to me, however, I doubt it. Most people who start businesses move out of Philly even if they are from here for some reason or another.

Anyway, the point that you evil starts in the mind is a strong point, and this I admire.

2 Responses to “Matthew 5:27-28”

  1. equa yona Says:

    Since I am commenting on all the other sections- the Greek texts for Matthew, and all the rest of the New Testament writings, have no chapters, no sections, no punctuation and no capitalization. At least the most ancient mss don’t. They didn’t use those niceties. that is one of the factors that makes Biblical translation so difficult. The Bible wasn’t divided into chapters, as we now have it, until the 1220’s(see Stephen Langton).

  2. Leroy Glinchy Says:

    Thanks, this is quite helpful. I didn’t know that.

    I feel that in this case, the bible can use a face-lift. There is a lot of editing that needs to be done to make this book useful in a self-help way.

Leave a Reply

