Matthew 5:1-12

I have to say that I looked ahead to Mark, and I realized that it’s basically the same story, but better written. It is much clearer to read. I think that Matthew should not be the first gospel. In fact, they should just not have it in here at all. Mark is better. However, I started reading Matthew so I’ll see this book to the bitter end.

In this next installment, Jesus goes up to the mountains, and he talks to some people. He tells them a bunch of things in this format:

If you have X shitty situation, you will get Y reward.

For example, “Blessed are the poor in spirt for theirs is the kindom of heaven.”

I take this not to mean that you should try to become poor in spirit in order to gain the kingdom of heaven. I think you’ll get it anyway, but I’m not sure. I’m assuming if your spirit is great, you can _still_ get the kingdom of heave. At least I hope so.

I think of this section as aiming at cheering people up. I don’t like to think that the idea is to promote poor spirits or anything.

I’d prefer this to be about how you can cheer yourself up right now. This where I started to have problems with this whole religion. When I was depressed (poor in spirit) I wanted to get better in spirit. I didn’t want to wait around for the “kingdom of heaven.” When I was depressed, I found it hard to believe this was even on its way.

Overall, this is one of the better sections. I just don’t see the connection between each X and Y.

On that makes sense is, “Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy.” OK.

But what about, “Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth.” I should be glad because I am meek. I wasted a lot of time trying not to be meek. Now, I’m getting a big promise to inherit the earth. I don’t know how to feel about this. I don’t _want_ the earth at this point. I mainly want to feel peace of mind.

Also, I can see people scheming to take over the earth by outdoing each other in meekness. I have just one question, “what is meek about using a megaphone or even a microphone?” I have a feeling that those LOUD preachers on Market Street will not inherit the earth.

Leave a Reply

