Matthew 1:18 to 1:25

This is the second part in a series where I read Matthew from the Gideon’s bible.

To recap. Last time on Matthew we went through 42 generations or 840 years in 17 lines. Not one word was devoted to a woman as if the men somehow created their offspring by hand or something. They didn’t even mention Bathsheba only her husband Urias.

Anyway, the story finally picks up in verse 18 where it says that regarding Mary, “before they came together, she found she was with child of the Holy Ghost.” Now this is definitely the Greatest Story Ever told. I don’t even need to comment much on this one. Really. To men everywhere, can you imagine if, before you had sex with your woman, she came up to you and told you she was pregnant. When you asked who the father is, she said, “the Holy Ghost.” I don’t know about you, but I know what I would do.

This is really silly, but I think that this is giving terrible advice. My advice to anyone is “Run!” Run far away from this woman. Don’t ever talk to her again. Don’t listen to her. Don’t try to understand. Just get out.

Like a good horror movie, her husband-to-be did not listen to me. In line 19, he thinks of “putting her away privily” as to “not make a publick (sic) example of her”. I think this means that he was going to quietly WHAT? I don’t know. If he does not marry her she would be stone to death. What is he going to do to save her? His only other choice is to marry her and pretend that the baby is his.

This would be a point to stretch the story out a bit to create suspense. Let Mary sweat for a few days. Instead, the tension is quickly resolved in the next line when Joseph has a dream telling him that her child is from the Holy Ghost. I would have said, “OK, Holy Ghost, YOU marry her.” Instead, Joseph marries her and pretends that the child is his. I really feel bad for this guy.

The dream goes on to tell him to give the son two different names: Jesus and Emmanuel. At this point, I feel that this book is getting to be a bit like a Russian novel where all the characters have at least two names.

Finally, the book ends with “he knew her not till she brought forth her first born son”. This means that he did not have sex with her for nine months or so after they were married. Before the child was born, I’d like to see some of Joseph’s thoughts. Unfortunately, the author does not think to include this. I can’t understand Joseph’s motivations in this. He seems a bit flat kind of like a puppet. If the main character is going to act in a way that is contrary to what a normal man would, I feel the author should make the reader aware _why_ this is happening.

Overall, I enjoyed this chapter. However, I feel it should be broken into at least two chapters: the begat chapter then the baby daddy drama.

Leave a Reply

