Matthew 1:1 to 1:17

This will begin my new series of posts which will encompass my reading of the New Testment Gideon version. I’m mainly reading it because it is around.

I have read most of it before. I was raised Catholic and went to Catholic school through college. In high school, I had a teacher who had us read a great deal of the bible including begats sections and footnotes. We read it in class word for word. Every now and then the teacher would give us his own commentary or jokes on each section. I’ll call this teacher Mr. River kinda like Pheonix’s dad except he was not.

Therefore, I don’t want anyone to think I’m being unkind. I probably am in some area, but I don’t mean to be. I respect all religions, but I don’t believe in ever losing my sense of humor. Overall, I think that the bible is a good idea, but it didn’t help me personally very much at all unlike other religious texts. I don’t feel that there is a contest to the death between religions. This view of not having contests to wipe out all other religions seems to place me in a minority. I feel that there is a particular section of hell for those who preach to people who just don’t wanna hear it.

Onto Matthew chapter I.

The first part is interesting as it starts with begats. If I were to draw a line to stop reading a draft it would be somewhere in here. It starts with Abraham (you need to read elsewhere to go from Abraham to Adam, the first man). I especially liked how the fifth generation there is Judas.

SPOILER ALERT BELOW!!

This Judas is in no relation to the Judas who betrays Jesus later on in the story. I liked all this. I liked how they included the whole drama about David having a child (Soloman) with the wife of Urias. That’s some great drama to spice up an otherwise boring family tree.

After Soloman, boredom set in. I would have stopped reading at line nine or so where “Ozias begat  Joatham.” Who cares?

I did read it all because it’s the bible not because it held my interest.

Things picked up once we got to the summary where there are 14 generations from Abraham to David, 14 from David until people go to Babylon then 14 more to Christ. The text did not say this in years. I calculate 20 years per generation so I get 14 x 3 = 42 generations from Abarham to Christ total. Then I get 42 generations x 20 years/generation = 840 years between Abraham and Jesus. If Jesus lived at 1 AD then Abraham was around at around 839 BC. Interesting.

I always like to think of things in terms of Buddha who was around 600 BC or so and Mohommed who was around 600 AD or so. So Abraham is older than both, of course. Since this book does not give a years/generation number, this could be really off. Who knows?

This concludes only verses Matthew 1:1 to 1:17. Later on, I’ll finish 18 to 25.

Leave a Reply

